Shohei Ohtani, finalista para JMV de Americana

NEW YORK – Los Angeles Angels sensation Shohei Ohtani is one of the finalists for the AL Most Valuable Player award in the Baseball Writers Association of North America (BBWAA) vote.

The BBWAA announced the AL and National MVP category finalists, as well as Cy Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year awards from both leagues on Monday night. The winners, decided in votes sent at the end of the regular season, will be revealed next week.

Ohtani is in the final shortlist of the American League voting with two Toronto Blue Jays players: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. and Marcus Seeds.

Ohtani, 27, had a .257 batting average with 46 home runs, 100 RBIs and a .965 OPS as the Angels’ designated hitter, while going 9-2 with a 3.81 ERA. in 23 starts. It was his first full season in both roles, after he won the 2018 Rookie of the Year award even after an elbow injury kept him back on the mound after 10 starts.

Former St. Louis Cardinals boss Mike Shildt was nominated for the NL Manager of the Year award less than a month after he was fired. The other finalists are: Craig Counsell of the Milwaukee Brewers and Gabe Kapler of the San Francisco Giants.

The Cardinals won 17 straight games at the end of the season and entered the postseason for the third time in four years under Shildt, but the 2018 Manager of the Year was fired because what general manager John Mozeliak described as “ philosophical differences ”. Bench coach Oliver Mármol will replace Shildt.

Meanwhile, the finalists for AL Manager of the Year are: Dusty Baker of the Houston Astros, Kevin Cash of the Tampa Bay Rays and Scott Servais of the Seattle Mariners.

The contest for the MVP award of the National is between Bryce Harper of the Philadelphia Phillies, and the Dominicans Juan Soto, of the Washington Nationals, and Fernando Tatis Jr., of the San Diego Padres. Harper is the only one of the three who has already earned the accolade, earning the honor in 2015 with the Nationals.

Max Scherzer is a finalist for a fourth Cy Young Award after splitting the season between the Nationals and the Los Angeles Dodgers, but for the other finalists it would be the first time they have earned the distinction.

Corbin Burnes, of Milwaukee Brewers, and Zack Wheeler, of Phillies, are the other two finalists in the National League, while in the American League the contest was reduced to Gerrit Cole, of the New York Yankees, Lance Lynn, of the Chicago White Sox, ya Robbie Rayof the Blue Jays, who is now a free agent.

Postseason star Randy Arozarena of Cuba and Rays teammate Wander Franco are finalists for the AL Rookie of the Year award alongside Astros right-hander Luis Garcia.

Cardinals outfielder Dylan Carlson, Cincinnati Reds second baseman Jonathan India and Miami Marlins left-hander Trevor Rogers are the finalists for NL Rookie of the Year.

We would like to thank the writer of this short article for this incredible material

Shohei Ohtani, finalista para JMV de Americana

The Inside News Hyderabad